Single-serving gluten free, dairy free, vegan blueberry muffin

by emmajh23

When it comes to food I have no control. I can be really good if unhealthy food isn’t around me – I won’t buy it so I can’t eat it. But if I bake something that actually turns out pretty successful for once I’m like a moth to flame.

These single-serving blueberry muffins from Katie are vegan, gluten-free and dairy-free, and don’t have me shoveling enough food in my mouth to feed six (they taste amazing too).

You need:

- 3 tbsp (30g) gluten-free flour

- 1/4 tsp baking powder

- pinch of salt

- 1-2 tbsp blueberries (fresh or frozen)

- 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

- 1 tbsp unrefined coconut oil (you can use applesauce for a fat-free version but note it won’t have as nice a texture)

- tbsp plus 1 tsp milk of choice (might need a bit less if using liquid sweetener)

- 1 tbsp sugar (or 1 packet stevia/tbsp maple syrup) 

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Mix dry ingredients, then add wet. Mix until just combined (don’t over mix), and bake in cupcake cases or a greased tin for around 17-20 minutes (baking time will vary, depending on the flour and oil/applesauce you use). You can also double or triple the recipe to have a few extra for breakfasts like I did and you can even cook them in the microwave in you can’t be assed to turn your oven on – just grease/spray a little dish, pour the batter in, and heat for around 90 seconds! (I have never been overly successful with microwave mug cakes so if yours do turn out good that way let me know!)

Single serving vegan, gluten free blueberry muffin

Single serving vegan, gluten free blueberry muffin

For the topping, this recipe for vanilla yogurt frosting I found by Stef from Cupcake Project works really well. Butter icing is another food I can and do eat straight out of the bowl – and using yogurt (I used lactose-free) instead of butter – vegan or not – makes me feel that tinyyy bit healthier.

